

Edinburgh Frontrunners AGM 2024

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 23rd November 2024 at 14:00 The Street, 2b Picardy Place, Edinburgh, EH1 3JT

34 members were present (see separate attendance sheet) including the outgoing committee:

- Robert Taylor (outgoing President)
- Martin Johnston (outgoing Vice President)
- Pat Blashill (outgoing Treasurer)
- Paulo Buoni (outgoing Communications Officer)
- Karen Halliday (outgoing Social Secretary)
- Martyn Whitwell (outgoing acting Secretary)

1. Welcome

The meeting started at 14:20 and members were welcomed by acting Secretary Martyn Whitwell who thanked them for making the arduous journey in the snow. A Zoom call was setup to allow members to dial in remotely, which two members made use of. Blank cards for members to write down ideas, suggestions and feedback were circulated and collected at the end of the meeting.

2. Presidents Report

The outgoing President Robert Taylor reported on the activities of the club over the past year:

"Good afternoon everyone and thank you for coming.

Thank you for the members of the committee for all their sterling work they carry out during the year. Thank you also to the staff and management of The Street for providing this safe environment where we can meet. But most of all, thank you to you

the runners, walkers or hobblers who bringing all your beauty, uniqueness and talent to make this the friendly enjoyable place it is.

This has been a great year for events, some of them involved running and some just socialising. They have all been attacked with the usual vim, vigour and panache as usual and we all put up a great show.

I have but one last wish as your incumbent President, please enjoy the moment of the Christmas party and try to keep mobiles away for the couple of hours. There will be at least one big surprise on the day for which I request you bring a post-it sized piece of paper and pen. You may wish to bring a small denomination note.

Security has been high on my agenda after the three attempts on the other well-known President but just to let you know I have replaced my bike lock and put a new hasp on the back gate.

Thank you all yet again and enjoy the rest of your day. X"

3. Statement of Account and Balance Sheet

The outgoing Treasurer Pat Blashill circulated a Treasurer's report (see separate report). The club received an income of £2,001, had expenses of £1,438, and has a net balance of £3,345. Suggestions were welcomed as to how this might be spent.

4. Approval of the Annual Membership Fee

A motion to keep the club membership fees at their current level of £15 for regular members and £5 for students/unwaged for the 2024/25 was put to the membership and approved unanimously.

5. Amendments to the Constitution and Club Polices

i) A motion to amend clause 5 (Membership) with an additional clause 5(e) which shall read:

5e) Honorary Life Membership is awarded to Members in recognition of outstanding service to the Club. It may be proposed and seconded by members of the committee for approval by vote at an Annual General Meeting.

The motion was put to the membership and approved unanimously.

ii) A motion to award *Honorary Life Membership* to *Trevor Fenton*, *Lucas*Nightingale, Martin Johnston and Pat Blashill was put to the membership and approved unanimously.

6. Election of Committee Members

- Michael O'Rourke and Henry Walker stood for the position of President. A vote was taken, and Michael O'Rourke was duly elected for the year 2024/25.
- ii. Martin Johnston and Henry Walker stood for the position of Vice President.A vote was taken, and Martin Johnston was duly elected for the year 2024/25.
- iii. **Pat Blashill** stood for the position of **Treasurer** and was duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- iv. **Martyn Whitwell** stood for the position of **Secretary** and was duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- v. **Henry Walker** stood for the position of **Social Secretary** and was duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- vi. **Paolo Buoni, Steven Voy and Helen Manson** (in absentia) stood as joint **Communications Officer** (shared) and were duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- vii. **Kate Foggo** stood for the position of **Learn to Run Officer** and was duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- viii. **Louis Julien** supported by **Karen Halliday** stood for the position of **Diversity & Equality Officer** (shared) and were duly elected unopposed for the year 2024/25.
- 7. The AGM closed at 15:00 and delicious cakes courtesy of the club's bakers were shared amongst members.